
FAQ 1: What am I allowed to do if my ball lands on the stones in 
the hazard surrounding the 13th green?

Applicable Rule(s): Local Rule 7 (Island Green - Hole 13)

A ball coming to rest on the stones, water lining (but not the wall) or entering 
the water surrounding the 13th green must with a penalty of one stroke be a) 
Dropped in the designated drop zone, or
b) On the teeing ground – The ball to be played must be played from within the 
teeing ground and may be teed. c) Through the green – The ball to be played 
must be dropped and when dropped must first strike a part of the course 
through the green.

Answer:
What the local rule means is that you have two options (and only two options), both of which incur a
penalty of one stroke. You may:

1. drop the ball in the dropping zone (see also FAQ 2), or

2. drop the ball as near as possible to the spot from where you played the ball that ended up in
the water. This is commonly known as “Stroke and Distance”.

You do not have the option that is normally available with a water hazard, namely going as far back as
you wish on a line keeping the point at which the ball last crossed the boundary of the hazard in line
with the hole. Nor do you have the option of entering the hazard and playing the ball as it lies.

If it was your tee-shot that ended up in the hazard and you elect to use the “stroke and distance”
option instead of using the dropping zone, you may play the new ball  from anywhere within the
teeing ground and may tee-up the ball. Note that the “teeing ground’’ is the rectangular area two
club-lengths in depth, the front and sides of which are defined by the outside limits of the two tee-
markers. 

An extreme example of this could be that you are over-zealous in putting a ball that is on the green
and manage to send it all the way across the green and into the water. You still have only two options,
at the cost of a penalty stroke, you either use the dropping zone, or you place another ball on the
putting green (you never drop a ball on the putting green) as close as possible to where the previous
ball was when you putted it.

Please  be  aware  that  the  drainage  ditch  on  the  13th hole  is  not  part  of  the  water  hazard  that
surrounds the green and as such the “normal” rules for dropping the ball apply. If a ball lands in here,
the dropping zone is not an option.
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